Birds of a Feather Flock Together

When you join together with others as a spontaneous team to accomplish kind deeds, this is when you will really have something to “tweet” about. In July 2012, my Granddaughter Hailey was staying with my husband and me for the week while she attended an acting class. It was an exceptionally beautiful summer night. Hailey and I love to be outdoors, so we jumped in the car and headed in the direction of her favorite park. We were just blocks away when the feeling came over me to try something different.

I said, “Hailey, How about we try a new park tonight?” Hailey replied, “Sure, Grandma.” That was all I needed to hear, and off we went in the opposite direction. We arrived at a new park, minutes from our house in a little town called Wayzata, at around 7 p.m. As we got out of the car I immediately directed Hailey’s attention to the sky. Hundreds of Purple Martins (a petite bird similar to a swallow) were gliding and swooping over our heads, catching bugs in the evening sky. To the left of the park entrance stood a large birdhouse situated atop a ten-foot pole. We approached a little girl who had a baby bird in front of her on the ground beneath the birdhouse.

“Oh, no!” Hailey exclaimed. “The baby fell out of the nest.”

I asked Hailey and the little girl, “How are we going to get this baby bird back up in its nest?”

If possible, I try to involve children in Spiritual Samaritan efforts so they become part of an earthly Angel team.

Within minutes, two teenage boys walked past and an idea popped in. I scanned their height and Boys birdhouse Friedenfeldthought to myself, “If I have this boy stand on that boy’s shoulders, that would close the ten- foot gap and we could put the baby bird back up in its nest.”

I approached the boys as they sat down on the swings about thirty feet away to talk and relax. Smiling, I quickly yet casually stated my purpose before they felt compelled to tell me to skedaddle out of their space, “Are you boys interested in saving a baby bird?”

One of the boys, wearing glasses, looked up with a perplexed expression on his face. I pointed and stated, “See that tall bird- house over there? One of the baby birds fell out of its nest and we are trying to save it.”

I directed my next question to the other boy. “Can you help us by standing on your friend’s shoulders?”

I was amazed at how enthusiastically they both answered, “Sure we can.”

The boy with the glasses went on to say, “We stand on each other’s shoulders all the time in acting class.”

I smiled inside. “Hmmm, I smell synchronicity all over this rescue.”

The boys followed me to the birdhouse and the slightly smaller boy jumped up on his friend’s shoulders while holding onto the birdhouse pole for support. His friend was shaking and quivering below, trying to keep his balance as best he could. I knew that Cirque Du Soleil would not be calling either one of these young lads for an upcoming road show, but I didn’t care; they were doing earthly Angel work right here and now.

I picked up the baby bird and on my tiptoes handed him to the boy who would place the creature in its nest. Once the baby bird was safely returned to his home I said, “Strike a pose for a picture.”

I snapped a photo on my phone and texted the boys the picture right on the spot so they could share the experience with their friends. When we involve others in spontaneous acts of kindness, we go from being strangers to becoming a united team connected at the heart level.

Hailey and I smiled at each other and headed over to the tire swing with love and joy in our hearts for a job well done.

(Months later, I came across the animal wisdom meaning of this specific bird and was amazed at the synchronistic meaning and how connected this was to our specific bird-saving operation. Here it is: Purple Martin energy teaches cooperation, establishing peace, and shows the importance of teamwork and community action.)

As mentioned in my book, The Book of Simple Human Truths, we must remain locked in our hearts in order to see all the wonderful miracles that are presented before us.
(Pictured above: Earthly Angels Ethan Weiser (top) with Nikhil Pandey (bottom) saving a baby Purple Martin in Wayzata, Minnesota)

****

“When we involve others in spontaneous acts of kindness, we go from being strangers to becoming a united team connected at the heart level.”

~Molly Friedenfeld
****
Visit our Violet Wisdom website at www.violetwisdom.com
****
Leave a Reply

